Poster Prizes

Winners will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Wednesday, June 1, 2011.  Please indicate your wish to be considered for ONE of the below awards with your abstract submission. 


Pauling Poster Prize, Canadian and IUCr Poster Prize

The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA, and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling. Linus Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was very supportive of the ACA. At each annual meeting the five best graduate or undergraduate poster presentations receive Pauling awards. Each award consists of $200, a complimentary banquet ticket, and a copy of a Linus Pauling book. An additional Pauling Prize sponsored by the Canadian Division of the ACA and the Canadian National Committee of the IUCr, will be given to the highest ranked graduate or undergraduate poster from a Canadian laboratory. Honorable mention awards for this prize are also made; they consist of a complimentary banquet ticket. Winners will be notified before the banquet on Wednesday. IUCr Poster Prize: The IUCr Executive Committee is pleased to inaugurate a new series of IUCr awards to be presented at meetings of the regional affiliates and national crystallographic associations. The Award is complimentary online access to all IUCr journals for one year or a complimentary volume of International Tables or other IUCr publication.

Journal of Chemical Crystallography Prize

The best student poster presentation in the area of chemical crystallography or small molecule structure determination and analysis is sponsored by Springer's Journal of Chemical Crystallography <> . The winner will receive their personal choice of books from Springer's extensive portfolio of titles.

AIP Undergraduate Research Prize

Presentation must describe research with a significant crystallographic component, students must demonstrate a command of the science, and must have completed the majority of the work being presented.

RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize

This prize recognizes a student poster presentation involving macromolecular crystallography. The award will be two educational books that will be mailed to the winner after the meeting. An announcement will appear on the RCSB PDB website and newsletter. For more information, see

CrystEngComm Poster Prize

CrystEngComm (published by the Royal Society of Chemistry) is very pleased to sponsor a prize to be awarded to the best student poster presentation in the area of crystal engineering /supramolecular chemistry. The winner will receive an RSC book voucher and an announcement will be posted on the CrystEngComm website ( shortly after the conclusion of the ACA meeting.  Please indicate your wish to be considered for this prize with your abstract submission.

Oxford Cryosystems Low Temperature Poster Prize

This prize is open to all participants and is awarded to the best poster describing work in low temperature crystallography. The winner will receive a cash prize donated by Oxford Cryosystems, Inc. The winner will be announced at the banquet on Wednesday.  


American Chemical Society's Int'l Year of Chemistry Poster Prize:

The ACA is happy to announce a special poster prize for 2011- The American Chemical Society's International Year of Chemistry Poster Prize.  The award (an IPOD-Nano) is intended to recognize an outstanding poster contribution from a junior scientist (undergrad, grad or post-doc) in the area of Chemical Crystallography, or who has used crystallography to solve a chemical problem.  Winners will be recognized at the ACA Banquet.  The ACA gratefully acknowledges the American Chemical Society ( <> ) for this opportunity.









Annual Awards

View all categories

A. Patt

erson, Wood Science Writing and Etter Early Career Awards



 Award Banquet

Wednesday, May 25

Purchase ticket at time of registration.