Poster Prizes

Please indicate your wish to be considered for ONE of the below awards with your abstract submission. Winners will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Wednesday, August 1, 2012.


The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling.  Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was a very supportive member of the ACA for many years. At each annual meeting the (7) best graduate or undergraduate poster presentations receive Pauling awards. Each award consists of $200, a complimentary banquet ticket, and a copy of a Linus Pauling book.


ACA Pauling Poster Prizes:  Linus Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was very supportive member of the ACA for many years.  Up to three prizes awarded annually.


Herman R. Branson Pauling Poster Prize:  recognizes the contributions of Herman Russell Branson, one of the first African American physicists to make crystallography the focus of his research.


Muttaiya Sundaralingam Pauling Poster Prize: recognizes the ground-breaking crystallographic research on the stereochemistry of nucleotides and nucleic acids

done by Muttaiya Sundaralingam and his colleagues.


Loius Delbaere Pauling Poser Prize:  sponsored by the Canadian Division of the ACA and the Canadian National Committee of the IUCr, will be given to the highest ranked graduate or undergraduate poster from a Canadian laboratory. 


IUCr Pauling Poster Prize:  sponsored by the International Union of Crystallography, to be given to a ranked graduate or undergraduate poster. The Award is complimentary online access to all IUCr journals for one year or a complimentary volume of International Tables or other IUCr publication.

Journal of Chemical Crystallography Prize

The best student poster presentation in the area of chemical crystallography or small molecule structure determination and analysis is sponsored by Springer's Journal of Chemical Crystallography. The winner will receive their personal choice of books from Springer's extensive portfolio of titles.

AIP Undergraduate Research Prize

Presentation must describe research with a significant crystallographic component, students must demonstrate a command of the science, and must have completed the majority of the work being presented.

RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize

This prize recognizes a student poster presentation involving macromolecular crystallography. The award will be two educational books that will be mailed to the winner after the meeting. An announcement will appear on the RCSB PDB website and newsletter. For more information, see

CrystEngComm Poster Prize

CrystEngComm (published by the Royal Society of Chemistry) is very pleased to sponsor a prize to be awarded to the best student poster presentation in the area of crystal engineering /supramolecular chemistry. The winner will receive an RSC book voucher and an announcement will be posted on the CrystEngComm website ( shortly after the conclusion of the ACA meeting.  Please indicate your wish to be considered for this prize with your abstract submission.


Oxford Cryosystems Low Temperature Poster Prize

This prize is open to all participants and is awarded to the best poster describing work in low temperature crystallography. The winner will receive a cash prize donated by Oxford Cryosystems, Inc. The winner will be announced at the banquet on Wednesday.  












Annual Awards

View all categories

2012 Awards to be presented in Boston:

Buerger Award, Supper Award, Warren Award, Wood Science Writing, Etter Early Career Award


 Award Banquet

Wednesday, August 1.

Purchase ticket at time of registration. Reduced price tickets available for registered students and post-docs.