Pauling Poster Prizes


The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling. Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was a very supportive member of the ACA for many years. At each annual meeting, not more than (7) best graduate or undergraduate poster presentations receive Pauling awards.  Some of the awards consist of $250, a complimentary banquet ticket, and a copy of a Linus Pauling book. Each prize is in honor of:


Linus Pauling Poster Prize(s):  recognizes the contributions of Linus Pauling. 


Congrats 2018 Linus Pauling Poster Prize Winners!

SU63: Investigation of a Novel Slam Dependent Heme Acquisition System in the Bacterial Pathogen Acinetobacter baumannii

Batemam, Tom

SU68: Structural Determinants for the Activation of Soluble Guanylyl Cyclase

Childers, Kenneth​

SU77: Role of AlgL in Pseudomonas aeruginosa alginate biosynthesis 

Gheorghita, Andreea​

SU98: The molecular mechanism of the type IVa pilus motor

McCallum, Matthew

SU120: Diverse ligand-binding domain combinations at the distal end of bacterial RTX adhesins are postal codes for biofilm formation.

Vance, Tyler


Herman R. Branson Pauling Poster Prize:  recognizes the contributions of Herman Russell Branson, one of the first African American physicists to make crystallography the focus of his research.


Muttaiya Sundaralingam Pauling Poster Prize: recognizes the ground-breaking crystallographic research on the stereochemistry of nucleotides and nucleic acids done by Muttaiya Sundaralingam and his colleagues.


Louis Delbaere Pauling Poster Prize: in honor of Louis Delbaere former ACA President from Canada, will be given to the highest ranked graduate or undergraduate poster from a Canadian laboratory. 

Congrats 2018 Louis Delbaere Poster Prize Winner!

SU62: Structural insights into biofilm polysaccharide de-N-acetylation in the fungus Aspergillus fumigatus

Bamford, Natalie​


IUCr Pauling Poster Prize: sponsored by the International Union of Crystallography, to be given to a poster selected by the committee. The award is two of the latest additions to the IUCr's book portfolio and a free three-year student membership of the IUCr Associates Programme (no cash prize).


Congrats 2018 IUCr Pauling Poster Prize Winner!

SU87: EM studies of cytochrome bc1 to elucidate inhibitor binding

Johnson, Rachel​


Sponsored Poster Prizes


Journal on Structural Dynamics Poster Prize:

The prize of $250 is given for excellence in research on structural determination and dynamics of systems, enabled by the emerging new instruments (e.g. XFELs, electron sources, etc.) and new experimental and theoretical methodologies and is open to students (graduate and undergraduate) and post-docs. The ACA Journal on Structural Dynamics sponsors this prize.


 Congrats 2018 Journal on Structural Dynamics Poster Prize Winner!

RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize:

This prize recognizes a student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation involving macromolecular crystallography. The award will be two educational books that will be mailed to the winner after the meeting. An announcement will appear on the RCSB PDB website and newsletter. For more information:  


 Congrats 2018 RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize Winner!


SU92: Substrate specificity of N-methyltransferases in benzylisoquinoline alkaloid metabolism

Lang, Dean


CrystEngComm Poster Prize 

CrystEngComm (published by the Royal Society of Chemistry) is pleased to sponsor a prize to be awarded to the best student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation in the area of crystal engineering /supramolecular chemistry. The winner will receive an RSC book voucher and an announcement will be posted on the CrystEngComm website (/



 Congrats 2018 CrystEngComm Poster Prize  Winner!


SA51: Chiral Segregation of Space by Anionic Assemblies found in Tartramide-based Spiroborate Salts

Soecipto, Aristyo



Oxford Cryosystems Low Temperature Poster Prize 

This prize is open to all participants and is awarded to the best poster describing work in low temperature crystallography. The winner will receive a cash prize donated by Oxford Cryosystems, Inc.



 Congrats 2018 Oxford Cryosystems Low Temperature Poster Prize Winner!


SA27: Tracking active-site solvents in human carbonic anhydrase II

Kim, Jin Kyun


Taylor & Francis Biomolecular Crystallography Poster Prize 

This prize is open to all participants and is awarded to the best poster describing a successful application of a non-routine or computationally challenging structure solution and refinement technique in biomolecular crystallography. The winner will receive Bernhard Rupp's book Biomolecular Crystallography donated by the Taylor & Francis Group.


Congrats 2018 Taylor & Francis Biomolecular Crystallography Poster Prize Winner!

SU82: First experimental visualization of the gaseous product CO2 in the active site of ODCase supports substrate strain as an integral part of the catalytic mechanism

Halgas, Ondrej


MiTeGen-Society of Physics Students Undergraduate Poster Prize

This prize was established to encourage young undergraduate researchers in the field of crystallography and recognizes the best undergraduate poster presentation. The winner will receive a $250 cash prize sponsored by the Society of Physics Students and MiTegen, as well as a gift certificate for MiTeGen products. All undergraduate student posters will be automatically be eligible.


 Congrats 2018  MiTeGen-Society of Physics Students Undergraduate Poster Prize Winner!

SU83: Supramolecular Effects to Explain a Nonstatistical Disorder

Haller, Joseph​ 


Journal of Chemical Crystallography Poster Prize:

The best student, graduate or undergraduate, poster presentation in the area of chemical crystallography or small molecule structure determination and analysis is sponsored by Springer's Journal of Chemical Crystallography. The winner will receive a book voucher for their personal choice of books from Springer's extensive portfolio of titles.



 Congrats 2018  Journal of Chemical Crystallography Poster Prize Winner!

SA20: Resolution of an antifungal compound through co-crystallisation

Guillot, Michael​