Poster Prize Winners


AIP Undergraduate Poster Prize

Jennifer Urban


Protein Data Bank Poster Prize

Serah Kimani


Pauling Poster Prize

Peder E. Cedervall

Donald Raymond


IUCr Pauling Poster Prize

Brandon  Goblirsch


Journal of Chemical Crystallography Poster Prize

Andrew Jones


Oxford Cryosystems Poster Prize

Vera Vasylyeva

The 2010 Annual Meeting: A Great Success


ACA would like to thank all those who have made this year's meeting in Chicago possible.  ACA is grateful to the 2010 Program Chair, Local Chair, Session Chairs and invited speakers for their diligent efforts to make this meeting a success.


The Association was honored to have  the 2009 Nobel Laureates in Chemistry  present lectures in Chicago.  Venkatraman Ramakrishnan gave a plenary lecture on Saturday, Thomas Steitz gave a plenary lecture on Wednesday and  Ada Yonath presented a plenary lecture during session 07.18 on Macromolecules, Complexes & Assemblies. 


A gallery of photographs from the meeting, courtesy of ACA Photographer Peter Mueller, is coming soon!

Meeting Sponsorship Opportunities


If you are a member working in the science industry or a business serving the scientific community, please consider our available sponsorship opportunities for next year's meeting in New Orleans, LA.

Congratulations to the 2010 ACA Award Winners

Raymond Trievel Raymond C. Trievel received the 2010 Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award for his achievements in elucidating the substrate specificity and catalytic mechanism of histone methyltransferases in the short time that he has been an independent researcher.

Anthony Spek

Anthony L. Spek received the 2010 Kenneth Trueblood award for his outstanding contributions to chemical crystallography and crystallographic computing.

David Watkin

David Watkin (Oxford University) is the recipient of the 2010 Isidor Fankuchen Award for his stewardship of the crystallographic software package "CRYSTALS" for x-ray structure refinement and analysis. 

City Skyline

2010 Logo

About ACA Meetings

The ACA meeting is an annual event providing scientists from a wide variety of backgrounds the opportunity to exchange cutting edge ideas and techniques in multiple areas of research. Each meeting highlights various aspects of crystallography and demonstrates their significance to the greater scientific community.  Topics including protein structure and drug design, materials research and engineering, among others.  Vendors display the latest technology at the exhibit show and special award symposia acknowledge outstanding scientists.

Important Deadlines

Student & Young Scientist Travel Grants:

March 31, 2010

Abstract Submission:

April 7, 2010


Advanced (Early) Registration:

May 31, 2010


Last Day for Conference Hotel $40/Night Off Deal:

April 30, 2010 


Last Day for Conference Hotel Rates:

June 22, 2010 

Office Information

American Crystallographic Association

P.O. Box 96 Ellicott Station

Buffalo, NY 14205-0096

Phone: (716) 898-8690

Fax: (716) 898-8695

[email protected]

2009 Meeting Photo Gallery

Downtown Toronto