Award Presentations


The ACA recognizes distinguished achievement in the field of crystallography to both mature and early career crystallographers through the presentation of various annual Awards.  The following Awards will be presented at the 2010 meeting.


I Fankuchen

Isidor Fankuchen Memorial Award

To recognize contributions to crystallographic research by one who is known to be an effective teacher of crystallography.


2010 Winner: David Watkin (Oxford University) is the recipient of the 2010 Isidor Fankuchen Award for his stewardship of the crystallographic software package "CRYSTALS" for x-ray structure refinement and analysis.  The worldwide success of CRYSTALS, used by students, academics and industrial users alike, can be attributed to its ease of use and to Watkin's unceasing support of the software and its users.

K. Trueblood

Kenneth N. Trueblood Award

To recognize exceptional achievement in computational or chemical crystallography.


2010 Winner: Anthony L. Spek has been selected to receive the 2010 Kenneth Trueblood award for his outstanding contributions to chemical crystallography and crystallographic computing.  He is a Professor in Chemical and Computational Crystallography at Utrecht University Bijvoet Center for Biomolecular Research in the Netherlands.

M. C. Etter

Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award

To recognize outstanding achievement and exceptional potential in crystallographic research demonstrated by a scientist at an early stage of their independent career.


2010 Winner: Raymond C. Trievel is an Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry at the University of Michigan where he is investigating the molecular mechanisms underlying protein modifications and their regulatory roles in gene expression and signal transduction.  He will receive the 2010 Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award for his achievements in elucidating the substrate specificity and catalytic mechanism of histone methyltransferases in the short time that he has been an independent researcher.



Margaret C. Etter Student Lecturer Award


Each Special Interest Group (SIG) within the ACA has the opportunity to invite one student to receive an award and to present a lecture in one of the sessions organized by that SIG. Selections are based upon submitted abstracts and are independent of whether the student presenter originally requested an oral or poster presentation. Award winners are determined by the elected officers of the SIGs. Students who accept the invitation will receive a monetary award of $250, which is independent of any requests for support via the ACA Travel Awards.


To nominate a scientist for an upcoming award, please fill out the Award Nomination Form and mail it to the ACA office. 

About ACA Meetings

The ACA meeting is an annual event providing scientists from a wide variety of backgrounds the opportunity to exchange cutting edge ideas and techniques in multiple areas of research. Each meeting highlights various aspects of crystallography and demonstrates their significance to the greater scientific community.  Topics including protein structure and drug design, materials research and engineering, among others.  Vendors display the latest technology at the exhibit show and special award symposia acknowledge outstanding scientists.

Poster Prizes

Poster Prizes

Poster Prizes

Poster Prizes

Office Information

American Crystallographic Association

P.O. Box 96 Ellicott Station

Buffalo, NY 14205-0096

Phone: (716) 898-8690

Fax: (716) 898-8695

[email protected]