Officers of the Canadian Division of the ACA

As the North American Regional Affiliate fourth International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), the ACA plays a significant role in promoting the applications and techniques of crystallography beyond U.S. borders.  The ACA represents all of North and South America to the global scientific community.  Canada is the largest single country outside the United States to contribute to the goals and purposed of the ACA.  The Canadian Division exists therefore to promote the interests of  Canadian members and to provide for an elected official to represent these interest on the ACA Council.

Chair 2016-2017

Paul Boyle

Dept. of Chemistry

Univ. Western Ontario

London ON N6A 5B7 Canada

[email protected] 

Secretary 2014-16

Brian Patrick

Dept. of Chemistry

Univ. of British Columbia

2036 Main Mall

Vancouver BC V6T 1Z1


[email protected]


This year Canada is a hot-bed of workshops, schools and meetings. Two of them will be held at the Canadian Light Source (CLS) in Saskatoon. The first of these meetings is the 6th Annual CLS Macromolecular Crystallography Data Collection School (CLS Mx).  It will be a five day, hands-on synchrotron data collection school held from May 24 to 28, 2016. This year's invited speaker is Jeffrey Lee from the Dept. of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology at the Univ. of Toronto. Jeff's main research interests are in the application of structural biology to understanding how virus particles gain entry into host cells. He will be guiding attendees in the use of molecular replacement structure determination and the effective use of COOT. Further details can be found at


The second function, being organized by Mirek Cyglar, also in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, is the 4th Annual Meeting on Protein Structure, Function and Malfunction (PSFaM) on June 23 and 24, 2016. This is a very well attended meeting held in Western Canada and is sponsored by the Canadian Light Source (CLS), Proteomics Research in Interactions and Structure of Macromolecules (PRISM), Bruker and the Univ. of Saskatchewan. In addition to the poster and oral presentations by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, there are 4 keynote speakers this year. They are:  Sergio Grinstein, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto; Susan Lees-Miller, Univ.of Calgary; Robert Campbell, Univ. of Alberta and Srirani Subramanian, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Maryland. More information regarding this meeting can be found at:  http://cmcf/


The Canadian Chemical Crystallography Workshop (CCCW) is operated annually and is associated with the annual meeting of the Canadian Society of Chemistry.  This year the 7th CCCW will be taking place at St. Mary's University in Halifax.  The local co-chairs are Jason Masuda and Katherine Robertson, both of St. Mary's University.  Jim Britten of McMaster University is the overall organizer of this excellent workshop.  It will take place just prior to the 99th CSC meeting and will run from May 30 to June 3, 2016.  Already people are registering for this CCCW16; registration forms and more information can be found at:


The 25th Buffalo-Hamilton-Toronto (BHT) meeting will be a one-day meeting in McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario held on November 4, 2016. BHT2016 will be hosted by Alba Guarné from McMaster University. The topic for this meeting will be protein structure determination by direct methods; the invited speaker is scheduled to be Isabel Usón from the Institute of Molecular Biology of Barcelona (IBMB, CSIC). She will cover new advancements in ab initio phasing using her program Arcimboldo-Borges.


2016 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Saturday, July 23, 2016 at the Denver Annual Meeting. Download the full minutes

2015 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Sunday, July 26, 2015 at the Philadelphia Annual Meeting. Download the full minutes


2014 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Monday, May 25, 2014 at the Albuquerque Annual Meeting. Download the full minutes


2013 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Monday, July 22, 2013 at the Hawaii Annual Meeting. Download the full minutes


2012 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Sunday, July 29, 2012 at the Boston Annual Meeting.  Download the full minutes

2011 Canadian Division Report

The Canadian Division meeting was held Sunday, May 29, 2011 at the New Orleans, LA Annual Meeting. Download the full minutes


2009 Canadian Division Report


The Canadian Division meeting was held Tuesday, July 28th, 2009 at the Toronto Annual Meeting.  Topics under discussion inluded the 2014 IUCr Congress in Montreal, the neutron reactor at Chalk River, and the role of the Canadian National Committee for Crystallography.  Download the full minutes.


Bylaws of the Canadian Division of the ACA

(Revised 1992.8.12, modified and approved 92.8.13 by the Council)




The name of the Division shall be the Canadian Division of the American Crystallographic Association. The American Crystallographic Association is hereinafter referred to as the ACA.




The purpose of the Division is to represent the interests of Canadian crystallographers within the ACA, to provide for the election of a Canadian Representative (hereinafter the Representative) to the Council of the ACA according to the provisions of the ACA By-laws and to promote scientific discussion among members of the ACA resident in Canada.




ACA The By-laws of this Division shall be consistent with the By-laws and Operating Rules of the ACA. In the event of conflict, the By-laws and Operating Rules of the ACA shall prevail.




All members of the ACA who are shown in the records of the ACA as having a mailing address in Canada are members of the Division.




The activities of the Division shall be governed by an Executive consisting of a Chair, a Secretary and the Representative (ex officio). The Chair and Secretary shall each hold office for two years except for the first elected Secretary who shall hold office for three years in order to ensure that the terms of Chair and Secretary are staggered. All meetings will be held at the call of the Chair and in any case a business meeting shall be held at least once a year in conjunction with a scientific meeting of the ACA. The Chair, or the chair's delegate, shall preside at all meetings of the Executive or general meetings of the Division. The Chair may appoint ad-hoc committees. The Secretary shall keep minutes and records of meetings of the Executive and general meetings of the Division. The Executive shall ensure that at least two nominations are provided for all posts in years when they fall vacant.




The Division may engage in any activities that are consistent with the By-laws and Operating Rules of the ACA and which further the purposes of the Division. These may include, but are not limited to, organizing meetings of its members.




Nominations for the Chair, Representative and Secretary must be made in writing signed by any three members of the Division for the Chair and Secretary, and any five members of the Division for the Representative, and signed by the candidate signifying willingness to stand. The election of officers shall be by mail ballot conducted in association with the elections of officers of the ACA. The candidate with the largest number of votes for any office shall be declared elected.




An amendment to these By-laws may be proposed at any time by the Executive or by any 10 members of the Division and must be put to a vote of the membership within 12 months. Voting shall be by mail ballot. The amendment must be approved by a 2/3 majority of the members voting.



Corporate Member Ad


    2017 Meeting

 May 26-30

 New Orleans, LA