Materials Science SIG Officers


Chair 2017      

Paul Forster

Dept. of Chemistry

Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas

Las Vegas, NV 89154

[email protected]

Chair-elect 2017, Chair 2018

Karena Chapman

Argonne National Lab

9700 S Cass Ave

Argonne, IL 60439

[email protected]

Past Chair 2017

James Nielson

Dept. of Chemistry

Colorado State Univ.

1872 Campus Delivery

Fort Collins, CO 80523

[email protected] 


Annual Reports

Annual reports contain information on the activities of the SIG for the year, issues addressed by the SIG members, future activity planning and any changes to the operations or constitution of the SIG.

2016 Report Download


2015 Report Download


2014 Report Download


2013 Report Download





2011 & 2012 Report Download


2009 & 2010 Report Download


2008 Report Download


2007 Report Download


2006 Report Download


2005 Report Download






I. Name


The name of this group shall be The Scientific Interest Group on Materials Science (formerly Applied Crystallography).


II. Purpose


The purpose of this group of ACA members is to promote scientific discussion of the application of crystallography to specific materials and of the tools and methods used in such applications.


III. Relationship to the American Crystallographic Association


The constitution of this Group shall be consistent with the Constitution, By-laws, and Operating Rules of the ACA. In the event of conflict the Constitution, By-Laws and Rules of the ACA shall prevail.


IV. Membership


Membership in this group is open to all members of the ACA upon application and payment of the prescribed dues, if any.


V. Organization


The activities of this group shall be controlled by an Executive Committee of three members elected by the members of the group. This Committee will carry out all of the official functions of the group, including the appointment of a Nominating Committee consisting of three members, none of who may be on the Executive Committee. For the first year this Nominating Committee shall nominate two candidates for each of the offices of Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer and Member-at-large. Other nominations may be submitted from the membership by petition signed by three or more members. These offices are Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect and Past-Chairperson. The term of office for each officer shall begin in the calendar year immediately following election. The Chairperson-Elect will automatically succeed to the Chairpersonship after one year. Thus, a Chairperson-Elect is elected each year. Vacant, unexpired terms are filled by appointment by the Executive Committee. No person may be elected to more than two consecutive terms as a member of the Executive Committee. Election shall take place at the same time and in the same manner as the ACA elections.


VI. Activities


The Organizing Committee may engage in any activities, consistent with the ACA Constitution and By-laws, which, in its opinion, further the purpose of the group. A Materials Science session will be organized cooperation with the ACA Program Committee at least once every two years at an ACA meeting.


VII. Elections and Voting


All votes shall be by mail ballot. Votes shall be by a simple majority of those voting, except for votes on amendments to the Constitution. In any election the candidate receiving the largest number of votes shall be deemed elected.


VIII. Dues


The Organizing Committee may set the dues to be charged to members of the group subject to an affirmative vote of the membership and to the approval of the ACA Council. Such dues shall be collected and disbursed by the ACA Treasurer.

IX. Amendments


An amendment to the Constitution may be proposed at any time by 5% of the membership of 10 members, whichever is smaller, or by the Organizing committee. Amendments must be rectified by a 2/3 majority of the members voting. Votes shall be by mail ballot.