Neutron Scattering




Chair 2018

Brent Melot

Univ. of Southern California

3620 McClintock Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90089

[email protected]





Chair-elect 2018/Chair 2019

Craig Bridges

Chemical Sciences Div MS6100

Oak Ridge National Lab

PO Box 2008

Oak Ridge, TN 37831

[email protected]


Past Chair

John Greedan

Dept. of Chemistry

McMaster Univ.

24 Church St.

Ancaster, ONT L9G2Y7 Canada

[email protected]


Annual Reports


Annual reports contain information on the activities of the SIG for the year, issues addressed by the SIG members, future activity planning and any changes to the operations or constitution of the SIG.


2017 Report Download

2016 Report Download

2015 Report Download

2014 Report Download

2013 Report Download

2012 Report Download







I. Name


The name of this group shall be the Scientific Interest Group on Neutron Scattering of the American Crystallographic Association.


II. Purpose


The purpose of this group of the American Crystallographic Association (hereafter ACA) shall be to promote all aspects of the applications of neutron scattering techniques.


III. Relationship to the American Crystallographic Association


The constitution of this Group shall be consistent with the Constitution, By-laws, and Operating Rules of the ACA. In the event of conflict the Constitution, By-Laws and Rules of the ACA shall prevail.


IV. Membership


Membership in this group is open to all members of the ACA upon application and payment of the prescribed dues, if any.


V. Organization


The activities of this group shall be controlled by an Executive Committee of three members elected by the members of the group. This Committee will carry out all of the official functions of the group, including the appointment of a Nominating Committee consisting of three members, none of who may be on the Executive Committee. For the first year this Nominating Committee shall nominate two candidates for each of the offices of Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer and Member-at-large. Other nominations may be submitted from the membership by petition signed by three or more members. These officers are Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect and Past-Chairperson. The term of office for each officer shall begin in the calendar year immediately following election. The Chairperson-Elect automatically succeeds to the Chairmanship after one year. Thus, a Chairperson-Elect is elected each year. Vacant, unexpired terms are filled by appointment but the Executive Committee. No person may be elected to more than two consecutive terms as a member of the Executive Committee. Election shall take place at the same time and in the same manner as the ACA elections.


VI. Duties of the Officers & Executive Committee


1. The Chairperson

(a) To administer the affairs of the Group

(b) To preside at meetings of the Group and of the Executive Committee

(c) To represent the group to the Council of the ACA and to be the group's representative on the program committee of the ACA meetings.

(d) To serve as a consultant to the Executive Committee during the ACA meeting at which his/her term includes.


2. The Chairperson-Elect

(a) To act in place of the Chairperson when the Chairperson is not present or is unable to discharge his/her duties.


3. The Past Chairperson

(a) To assist current Chairperson and Chair-Elect in the affairs of the group.

(b) To attend to correspondence and notices of the group. Wherever possible all notices to the Group shall be circulated along with the Newsletter of the ACA.

(c) To keep exact records of the finances of the Group in collaboration with the Treasurer of the ACA.


4. The Executive

(a) To deliberate the affairs of the Group and to cause appropriate action to be taken based upon these deliberations or as the result of a decision being taken at a Group meeting or based upon the report of an appointed committee.

(b) To organize a session relating to some specific aspect of the Group's interest at least once very two years. This session will be held at a regular meeting of the ACA and be organized in cooperation with the Program Chair of the meeting.

(c) To promote any activity which, in the opinion of the Executive, furthers the purpose of the Group.

(d) To appoint a Nominating Committee and such other committees as, from time to time, are deemed necessary. No appointee to such a committee shall have a term of more than two years.


VII. Nominating Committee & Nominations for Executive Office


The Nominating Committees shall consist of three members. The immediate past Chairperson shall be invited to be a member of the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee shall propose at least two persons for election to each Executive Office that will fall vacant in the succeeding year. Additional nominations may be submitted from the membership by petition signed by five or more members of the Group. Nominations from the Nominating Committee shall be related in writing to the Executive before August 1st of each year.


VIII. Elections and Voting


All votes shall be by mail ballot. Votes shall be by a simple majority of those voting, except for votes on amendments to the Constitution. In any election the candidate receiving the largest number of votes shall be deemed elected.


IX. Dues


The Organizing Committee may set the dues to be charged to members of the group subject to an affirmative vote of the membership and to the approval of the ACA Council. Such dues shall be collected and disbursed by the ACA Treasurer.


X. Business


A business meeting of the Group shall be held annually to coincide with one of the regular meetings of the Association. A Quorum at a business meeting shall be one third of the membership of the Group or twenty-five members whichever is the smaller number. A simple majority of those votes shall be sufficient to pass a motion at a business meeting.

XI. Amendments

An amendment to the Constitution may be proposed at any time by 5% of the membership of 10 members, whichever is smaller, or by the Organizing committee. Amendments must be rectified by a 2/3 majority of the members voting. Votes shall be by mail ballot.