Small Molecule





Chair 2018

Graciela Diaz deDelgado

Univ. deLos Andres,Venezuela

Apdo 40 La Hechicera

Merida 5101 Venezuela

[email protected]



Chair-elect 2018/Chair 2019

Karah Knope

Georgetown Univ

37th and O St, NW

Washington, CD 20057

[email protected]




Secretary 2018-2019

Nichole Valdez
Chemistry & Geology

Univ. of Idaho

Moscow, ID 83843

[email protected]




Annual Reports


Annual reports contain information on the activities of the SIG for the year, issues addressed by the SIG members, future activity planning and any changes to the operations or constitution of the SIG.


2017 Report Download

2016 Report Download

2015 Report Download

2014 Report Download

2013 Report Download

2012 Report Download

2011 Report Download

2010 Report Download

2009 Report Download

2008 Report Download








I. Name


The name of this group is THE SMALL MOLECULE GROUP.


II. Purpose


The purpose of this subgroup of the American Crystallographic Association (hereafter ACA) is to promote all aspects of the application of crystallographic techniques to the determination, analysis and presentation of structures of small molecules.


III. Relationship to the American Crystallographic Association


The Constitution of this Group shall be consistent with the Constitution, By-laws, and Operating Rules of the Association. In the event of any conflict the Constitution, By-laws and Rules of the ACA shall prevail.


IV. Membership


Membership in this Group is open to all members of the ACA. Persons desiring membership should apply to the Secretary of the Executive Committee of this Group and pay the prescribed dues, if any.


V. Organization


The activities of this group shall be directed by an Executive Committee of three members. The officers of the Executive Committee shall be a Chairperson, a Chairperson-Elect and a Secretary-Treasurer. The chairperson and Chairperson-Elect shall each serve as such for a term beginning on January 1. The Chairperson-Elect shall succeed to the Chair at the end of his/her first year of service. The Secretary-Treasurer shall serve a two year term.

At the expiry of their terms the Chairperson and Secretary-Treasurer shall not be eligible for re-election for the next succeeding term as the Chairperson-Elect or Secretary-Treasurer respectively. No person may serve more than two consecutive terms on the Executive Committee.


VI. Duties of the officer & executive committee


1. The Chairperson

(a) To administer the affairs of the Group

(b) To preside at meetings of the Group and of the Executive Committee

(c) To represent the group to the Council of the ACA and to be the group's representative on the program committee of the ACA meetings.

(d) To serve as a consultant to the Executive Committee during the annual meeting.


2. The Chairperson-Elect

(a) To act in place of the Chairperson when the Chairperson is not present or is unable to discharge his/her duties.


3. The Secretary-Treasurer

(a) To keep membership files

(b) To attend to correspondence and notices of the group. Wherever possible all notices to the Group shall be circulated along with the Newsletter of the ACA.

(c) To keep exact records of the finances of the Group in collaboration with the Treasurer of the ACA.


4. The Executive

(a) To deliberate the affairs of the Group and to cause appropriate action to be taken based upon these deliberations or as the result of a decision being taken at a Group meeting or based upon the report of an appointed committee.

(b) To organize a session relating to some specific aspect of the Group's interest at least once very two years. This session will be held at a regular meeting of the ACA and be organized in cooperation with the Program Chair of the meeting.

(c) To promote any activity which, in the opinion of the Executive, furthers the purpose of the Group.

(d) To appoint a Nominating Committee and such other committees as, from time to time, are deemed necessary. No appointee to such a committee shall have a term of more than two years.


VII. Nominating Committee & Nominations for Executive Office


The Nominating Committees shall consist of three members. The immediate past Chairperson shall be invited to be a member of the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee shall propose at least two persons for election to each Executive Office that will fall vacant in the succeeding year. Additional nominations may be submitted from the membership by petition signed by five or more members of the Group. Nominations from the Nominating Committee shall be related in writing to the Executive before August 1st of each year.


VIII. Elections & Voting


All elections shall be by mail ballot and shall be conducted at the same time as elections for officers of the Association so far as is possible. In any election the candidate receiving the largest number of votes shall be deemed elected.


IX. Dues


The Executive Committee may set dues to be charged to the members of the Group subject to the approval of the Council of the ACA and of the Group itself. Such dues shall be collected and disbursed by the Treasurer of the ACA.


X. Business


A business meeting of the Group shall be held annually to coincide with one of the regular meetings of the Association. A Quorum at a business meeting shall be one third of the membership of the Group or twenty-five members whichever is the smaller number. A simple majority of those votes shall be sufficient to pass a motion at a business meeting.


XI. Amendments


Amendments to this Constitution shall be by mail ballot. Such a mail ballot shall be conducted at the same time as the election of Executive Officers. A simple majority of those valid ballots cast shall be binding on any proposed amendment.


XI. Vacancies on the Executive


If the office of Chairperson becomes vacant the Chairperson-Elect shall succeed to the Chair for the remainder of the unexpired year and will succeed in the following year according to the provision of paragraph V. If any other office becomes vacant the remaining officers shall appoint a member of the Group to fill the vacancy until the next election can be held. An appointed member of the Executive shall be eligible for regular election to the Executive and the term of such appointed serve shall not be counted under the provisions of paragraph V.