Your support makes it happen

For the past 10 years the ACA has operated at a loss of about $30,000 per year.  We are working hard to reduce costs and increase income, and your donation can help carry the ACA through this transition period while we reduce personnel costs and try to increase membership.

Your donation will help the ACA host its outstanding Annual Meetings, maintain the History Portal, support workshops and outreach to the community such as crystal-growing contests.

The ACA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and donations are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by law.


We are grateful for the continuous and generous donations from members to our award funds. Some of these funds are providing enough yield on investment to make this year's award, while others, such as our new Outreach/Education, are undersubscribed. Currently, we ask that you direct any donation to one of the following:


B. Warren Diffraction Physics

To recognize an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. Established in 1970 by students and friends of Prof. B.E. Warren on the occasion of his retirement from MIT. Past winners

M.C. Etter Early Career Award

To recognize outstanding achievement and exceptional potential in crystallographic research demonstrated by a scientist at an early stage of their independent career. Past winners

Pauling Poster Prize

The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling. Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was a very supportive member of the ACA for many years. Up to 7 prizes are given annually.



History Program
The ACA History Project showcases and preserves the history of crystallography, X-ray diffraction, and structural science through online access, articles in ACA RefleXions quarterly magazine, and archival at the Niels Bohr Library and Archive.

Student Travel
We are committed to helping as many students and young scientists as possible attend annual meetings. Each year we receive generous donations from the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) as well as from individual members and businesses who share our commitment.


We support outreach and education in science, including activities such as crystal growing competitions, educational videos, and events for the public. Your donation increases the support the ACA can give.



African Crystallography Initiative

The IUCr, along with ICSU, UNESCO and other agencies, have identified Africa as an area in need of development and support for burgeoning crystallography research. The ACA has started a fund to support students from developing African countries in attending annual ACA meetings, as well as various ACA schools and workshops. Funds will also go to awards for outstanding presentations by African students at conferences within Africa, and will be used to support outreach efforts in developing African countries and in bringing African visiting scientists to North America.


Make your selection from the list below
then click on the DONATE NOW button

Donation to:

Donation in memory of:





Unrestricted Fund
Support programs such as advocacy efforts, operations, and membership services or wherever the need is greatest.

If you would like to support the new website campaign, please select the Unrestricted Program Fund and type "website" in the Donation in memory of box so that we know your intentions.



Our other awards

R. Bau Neutron Diffraction
I.A Fankuchen Memorial
A.L Patterson
M.J Buerger
E.A Wood Science Writing Award
K.N Trueblood Award
Charles E. Supper Instrumentation Award
David Rognlie Memorial Award


The ACA greatly appreciates the generosity of all of its donors.
Thank you for your donation!