The July 2009 ACA Toronto conference. 

David Rose, Local Chair 

ACA2009 Conference, Department of Biology, University of Waterloo, 200 University Avenue West, Waterloo, Ontario, N2L 3G1, Canada; Tel. 519-888-4567 ext 35208 ; Fax: 519-746-0614 ; E-mail: [email protected] 


The American Crystallographic Society held its annual meeting in Toronto, July 26-30, 2009. Despite unforeseen obstacles, including a major Toronto city workers strike (including garbage collection), a short rail strike and an unusually rainy period featuring some spectacular thunderstorms, the meeting was, by all accounts, very successful. By the time the meeting had ended, the strikes were settled and the weather had calmed down, a message that should be sent to all potential ACA host cities. 

Jim Britten and his team organized a stimulating and appropriately broad scientific program and, as usual, the meeting organization from the Buffalo ACA staff was flawless. The pre-meeting JANA and Twinning workshops were very well received. Even in the face of the economic difficulties, ACA2009 had the third largest attendance ever, with well over 900 registrants. The major award winners, Shih-Lin Chang (Warren Award), Svilen Bobev (Etter Award) and Michael James (Buerger Award), along with special plenary speakers Ted Baker and Philip Coppens, all gave popular lectures, despite the early start hour. As usual, the enthusiastic and generous exhibitors showed off their latest products, made many personal connections, and sponsored some lively social occasions. Special thanks to the excellent cohort of Canadian crystallographers who attended the meeting (many of whom helped with volunteer jobs). I think we showed the ACA that Toronto, and Canada in general, is worth keeping on the list of sites for future ACA meetings. 

See you in Chicago next year!