We are saddened to learn of the passing of Jerome Karle, on June 6, 2013. He was two weeks shy of his 95th birthday. Jerome was a former president of both the ACA (1972) and the IUCr (1981-1984), as well as a co-recipient of the 1985 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on Direct Methods. Among the many additional honors he received for his work, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1976 and the American Philosophical Society in 1990.


We are saddened to report the passing of Ray Davis on May 29, 2013.  Ray was only 74.  Ray retired from the University of Texas at Austin in 2006 after 40 years teaching, research and publishing where he won numerous outstanding teaching awards.  He was a member University of Texas Academy of Distinguished Teachers and well known as co-author of a popular General Chemistry textbook.  Ray was very active in the ACA and served as ACA president in 2003.


Hugo Steinfink passed Saturday Aug. 25. He had been in a Dallas hospital for about 3 weeks following a heart valve replacement.
Hugo was ACA President in 1995. An obituary will appear in the Fall issue of ACA RefleXions



We are saddened to report the passing of Prof. Ray Young, ACA President 1973.

 We are saddened by the news of the passing of Dame Louise Johnson.  She suffered a serious and very incapacitating heart attack with

complications in August 2011.