Without the continued support from our members the ACA could not continue to exist. Not only do your donations help the ACA operate on a day-to-day basis but it helps us sponsor educational and outreach activities.  Opportunities to add donations onto your dues are included when you renew or join.  

The ACA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and donations are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by law.

A majority of our donations are from our members and we greatly appreciate your support.  However, you do not need to be an ACA member to donate. Other than the donation the only other thing we require is that you create a profile with an email address.  

It is only with the assistance of our generous members and donors that the ACA is able to continue its mission of advancing, promoting and preserving crystallography, structural science, and allied disciplines for the benefit of humankind through public outreach, conferences and publications. 

Find out more on how donations are utilized by the ACA:

Donate Today!  

In Memory Of: Honor a friend, loved one, colleague or fellow ACA member by making a donation in their name.  Donations allow the ACA to continue to fund travel awards, outreach activities and continue sharing crystallography with the world.  

Unrestricted Fund: This is the most important fund to the ACA. The Unrestricted Fund goes to support a number of different programs at the discretion of the ACA. These programs include, but are not limited to, advocacy efforts, operations, and membership services. By donating to the Unrestricted Fund it allows the ACA to choose how to allocate your gift in the way it would be best utilized by the organization.

M.C. Etter Early Career Award: To recognize outstanding achievement and exceptional potential in crystallographic research demonstrated by a scientist at an early stage of their independent career.

Pauling Poster Prize: The Pauling Poster Prize was established by the ACA and is supported by member contributions, to honor Linus Pauling. Pauling was one of the pioneers in American structural research and was a very supportive member of the ACA for many years. Up to seven prizes are given annually.

Fully Funded Awards: There are a number of other awards that are offered to individuals through the ACA but that are currently fully funded. These include the R. Bau Neutron Diffraction award, the B. Warren Diffraction Physics award, the I.A Fankuchen Memorial award, the A.L Patterson award, the M.J Buerger award, the E.A Wood Science Writing Award, the K.N Trueblood award, the Charles E. Supper Instrumentation award and the David Rognlie Memorial award.

Voluntary Contribution: The US National Committee for Crystallography (USNCCr) and the American Crystallographic Association (ACA) are related organizations that work together to promote and advance the field of crystallography in the United States. The USNCCr focuses on representing the United States within the international crystallography community, while the ACA serves as a professional organization that provides a platform for crystallographers to collaborate, share research, and advance the field within the United States.  If you would like to make a tax deductible donation these funds will go to help defray the cost of dues by the USNCCr to the IUCr.

While we are incredibly grateful to all those who wish to donate money towards the ACA and its goals we would ask that if you are considering giving a monetary gift to us that it be for one of the funds or programs that are currently underfunded.


Charitable Bequests

If the ACA has made an impact on you or if you believe in our hope of sharing crystallography with the world then consider making a charitable bequest. Bequests can be a wonderful way to help support the organization throughout the years. While every instance is different, often times there are benefits to both the grantor and receiver. If this is something that you are interested speak with your estate planner or attorney to discuss options that are best for you.  Contact the ACA for more information.